Cleveland Prayer Group Website

Five Senses of Soul

From Philokalia: Volume-4, Nikita Sithatos, lesson 10

" Just as in the body there are five senses
- sight, hearing, taste, smell and touch
- so in the soul there are five senses
- intellect, reason, noetic perception, intuitive knowledge, and cognitive insight.

These are united in three psychic activities
- intellection, ratiocination and noetic perception.

By means of intellection we apprehend spiritual intentions,
by means of ratiocination we interpret them, and
through noetic perception we grasp the images of
divine insight and spiritual knowledge."

Source: Nikita Sithatos and Dr. Cherian Eapen, President, RIC Foundation

[Article Archives Home] [Cleveland Prayer Group Home]

Website Developed and Hosted By: International Cyber Business Services Inc.
Copyright 1996-2008 International Cyber Business Services, Inc.